Book Review: Second Chances (Frosh, #2) by Monica B. Wagner

25972249.jpgTitle: Second Chances
Author: Monica B. Wagner
Publisher: Paper Lantern Lit
Pub Date: September 27, 2016
Format: Kindle eBook
Pages: 244
Source: NetGalley
Genre(s): New Adult, Romance
Rating: ★★★
Goodreads || Buy on Amazon


Synopsis from Goodreads:

In Frosh: First Blush, Ellie, Grant, Devon, and Charlie spent their welcome week falling head over heels for each other—before totally falling apart. Now, in Frosh: Second Chances, they’ll have to pick up the pieces.

After ruining Grant’s football career (and her own reputation), Ellie has been trying to lie low—which means not making more enemies. But some students still want her to pay for what she did, and now, Ellie’s determined to fight back—and fight for Grant.

Grant is adjusting to his new reality: no more football means no more free passes in class, and definitely no more distractions; especially from Ellie, whom he misses even after she destroyed his world. Can he find a way to move on without her—and without football?

Devon finally has it all: her brother’s sober and her boyfriend is an adorkable genius. But when her parents threaten to tear her and Charlie apart because he doesn’t ‘fit’ into their high society, she will go to dangerous lengths to prove that nothing—nothing—can defeat Devon Connors.

Charlie’s never questioned who he is: pre-med science geek, and now, Devon Connors’ boyfriend. But when he discovers a secret about his past, Charlie isn’t sure of anything—especially whether he can trust Devon with the truth.

Perfect for fans of Cora Carmack and Colleen Hoover, Monica B. Wagner’s sexy New Adult series follows these four characters all the way to winter break—when the only thing they’ll want more than first love is a second chance.


My review:

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way alters my opinion of the work.

If you’re like me and you missed the first book, don’t you worry. The synopsis covers everything you need to know.

This book follows several different characters, which is great, but I did not like the sudden transitions between each point of view. Grant and Ellie and Charlie are likable enough and they each have their own issues, but I’m actually more interested in seeing things from Andrew or Sorenson’s perspective. I feel like they both have the potential to be developed into more complicated characters. I hope I get to read more about them in the next book.

Now don’t get me started on Devon. She just rubbed me the wrong way but I guess that’s the point of her character. She’s a self-proclaimed b*tch who wants to be a “better b*tch”. I’m just not sure how I feel about that. There’s nothing wrong with being headstrong (and totally owning it) but I also can’t empathize with her at all and that’s no good. Empathy is key when you’re writing a book about so many different people. I almost dreaded reading her chapters. In any case, there’s definitely room for improvement.

On another note, I really enjoyed the little bits of journalism, improv, and football, that were discussed in this book. I also really admired how Ellie brought awareness to important issues like bullying and slut-shaming. I hope this is continued in the next book.

The story was fast-paced in a way that made it seem like 100 or so pages were missing, but the basic bones of the plot were good. Like I said earlier, some further development could bring this book a long way.

I’ll give this series a second chance! It has promise.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Second Chances (Frosh, #2) by Monica B. Wagner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s